Public Holidays


Public holidays in Jamaica are considered Christian or secular based on their origins and mode of celebration. There are approximately 10 holidays; six of which are secular and four of which are Christian. With the exception of Labour Day, any holiday which falls on a Saturday is observed on that day. All public holidays in Jamaica are governed by the Provisions of the Holidays (Public General) Act of 1895. Most businesses are closed to observe public holidays.

public-holiday article-crop

January 1 - New Year's Day
February - Ash Wednesday
March - Good Friday
March - Easter Monday
May 23 - Labour Day
August 1 - Emancipation Day
August 6 - Independence Day
October 17 - National Heroes Day
December 25 - Christmas Day
December 26 - Boxing Day